Columbian Zebra Plec Not Eating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jamiemast1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I've just bought a Columbian Zebra Plec L129, he doesn't come out of his hiding place, he doesn't appear to eat anything I leave him. Fourth day of having him today.

I've got a 48 Litre tank, no real plants and got Guppies, Danios, Tetra and a Shrimp.

I've tried Algae Wafers and last night tried Cucumber. I leave his food after lights out and have also started not turning tank lights on.

Please can someone help???

Did you try feeding something meaty, bloodworms perhaps? I'm not a pleco expert by any means but I believe that these hypancistrus prefer a more meaty diet. I've never kept these particular ones so i can't really comment on the hiding behavior, but it's apparently pretty normal for a lot of pleco species.

That tank sounds awful small for your current stock load also, how long has the tank been running?

I put bloodworms in as a treat, but all the other fish ate them and not sure how I would get some down to the bottom and left for the Plec.

Tank matured and stocking levels right for it's size, can't get anymore fish, just got the right amount.

I put bloodworms in as a treat, but all the other fish ate them and not sure how I would get some down to the bottom and left for the Plec.

Tank matured and stocking levels right for it's size, can't get anymore fish, just got the right amount.

That tank is way over stocked for it's size.

Last edited:
Maybe I've wrote the litres wrong, but it's stocked correctly, I've checked and it looks empty still.... I ain't got the fish in vast numbers by the way... I only put what fish I had, not how many!!!!!!!!!!

I used to try years ago to keep a zebra plecostamus but couldn't get him to eat do you got me?