complete beginner -corner filter question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bambithegirl

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi Everyone,

I just set up my first tank in years. I imagine I will have many questions but will ask them one at a time as I need the info. I have a corner filter with charcoal and filter wool but I have read on several blogs that I should not add the activated charcoal until after my tank is cycled. Is this correct, and if so, do I literally just take the filter wool out when cycling is complete, add washed charcoal and put the filter wool back in? At the moment its only the wool in the filter.

Hi! Welcome to the community :)

Corner filters are very old fashioned, and you can do a LOT better than that. I think that the filter is the most important piece of equipment you can have and having a good filter will make all the difference to the health of your tank.

Seriously consider upgrading to something else - I use a Aquaclear hang back filter and am very happy with it.

To answer the question you actually asked :)

The activated charcoal is good for taking out specific substances like medication. You don't have to have it permanently in your filter. These days, you can get activated charcoal in little pre-made bags so it's easy to put in and take out when you need it. Leaving it in wont do harm, but it gets used up quite quickly (about a month) and then its just taking up space in the filter.

Hang on a second and I'll post some links you might find useful...

Oh - forgot to ask - how big is your tank, and do you have any fish in it already?

Not sure if you already know how to "cycle" a tank so it's healthy for fish:

The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling - Aquarium Advice

If you already have some fish in there, you might want to read this one: