Cycleing new tank ideas? (I'm a newbie)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magnaflow

Aquarium Advice Regular
hey guys Dont know if you read some of my other post but I am planing on trying salt water soon. Just wondering whats the best way to cycle it. I read about the raw shrimp trick. Would you recomend that or just letting ti run or adding certain chemicals? probley picking up a used 29gal tonight and a protein skimmer from a buddy of mine. I wont be setting it up for a month probley but I'd like to know ahead of time.

I'm thinking it depends on your live rock source. I got mine from the LFS w/plenty of die off for a cycle. Some of these online sources have rock shipped in pretty good condition w/little or no die off and plenty of life on'm. Wouldn't want to cycle with good living stuff (stars, snails, corraline, shrimp, etc) on it. The ammonia spike would kill a lot or you'll be changing water like crazy.

IMO, yes if you're gonna go with the mail order rock with lots of life on it. I think some cycle with the sand/substrate in place too.

Done any reading yet? Robert Fenner's "Conscientious Marine Aquarist" is a good start - all except the part about cycling with fish. Do yourself a favor and read that. You'll save money and headaches later IMO.

You can cycle with liverock in the tank. Is the liverock going to be your filtration? Or will you be using some other filtration? Whatever your filtration is, that needs to be in the tank. You are not "Cycling" the water, you are cycling the filtration media, getting it to grow the bacterias needed.

This article may also help you some:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showquestion.php?faq=2&fldAuto=15