Cycling a new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishcrazy86

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I’ve only had this tank up for about 2 weeks an I’m not a pro at testing my water so I took it to our Local pet store an they said I’m in mid cycle guess things were pretty rough. Well when we started it up we were told to use stability for 7 days an we did just that. When our water was checked I was told we never should of used it? An should of started with some cheap fish. I plan to take my water to be tested again soon to see where we are at. But any recommendations as to what to do?

So I’ve only had this tank up for about 2 weeks an I’m not a pro at testing my water so I took it to our Local pet store an they said I’m in mid cycle guess things were pretty rough. Well when we started it up we were told to use stability for 7 days an we did just that. When our water was checked I was told we never should of used it? An should of started with some cheap fish. I plan to take my water to be tested again soon to see where we are at. But any recommendations as to what to do?

You are mid cycle

Likely amonnia is dropping, nitrites are just starting to drop and nitrates are rising.

Keep ammonia dosing, let the nitrites drop, remove excess nitrates with water changes as needed.

Keep temps on the warmer side to speed up bacterial colonizing.

You are mid cycle. So don’t bother with cheap fish. Animal cruelty ;)

Let the fish less cycle finish off, shouldn’t be long now.

Hello Fish...