cycling and lr

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ladybus301

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi , Im new to saltwater. Ive had my 55 gallon tank up for 31/2 weeks now. I have 2 damsels and a shrimp in there, thanks to a fish store giving me wrong info. I have 20 lbs of cured live rock. I also have live sand. Will this cycle my tank. It seems like i keep reading about uncured live rock and dont know if i put the right stuff in. also can i now add a raw shrimp to speed up the cycle, even if i have the fish in the tank. seems like its taking a really long time. My levels are amm o , ni2 0.50,ni3 .10, and ph 7.8 any help u can give me, im really confused!!!

Your PH looks a bit low it should be more like 8.2-8.4. Have you had an ammonia spike at all? How long have the fish been in the tank? I would add a bit more LR. 1.5 to 2.5lbs per gallon for good filtration. What are you using for circulation on the tank? What kind of filter are you using? What is your specific gravity? Should be 1.019 - 1.025 1.023-1.023 is a good place to be. I would not add a raw shrimp as this would give you an ammonia spike and you don't want that!! I'm going to say that you are in the midst of your cycle right now. The live fish method is not perferred by most of us because of the stress it causes the animals. That LFS is looking to make money and not give good information.

Welcome to AA by the way. I'm sure that many more people will chime in and offer a lot of great advice! They will not steer you wrong!!

Good luck!!

My advice...take the fish back and throw in a shrimp or two. That will cycle your tank. Cycling with the fish is not only not nice to the fish, but sloooooooow. You could have been cycled by now almost if you'd added in more liverock and the shrimp. :)