cycling question!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Paulcm10

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been trying to cycle my 20g high tank for about 2 months now. I just now got my testing kit in from the mail and tested my water. I am disappointed with the results since i have been doing my water changes weekly.

my results are
ph - 7.6 (i need my ph to be on 6.8)
ammonia- 0ppm (the only thing I'm happy about)
nitrite - 5.0ppm or maybe a bit higher
nitrate - 10ppm-20ppm (i can't really tell if its on 10 or 20 but i would like it on 10ppm)

so my question is besides ammonia how do i lower my ph to 6.8 and my nitrite down to 0ppm?

I'm not good at cycling questions, so I'll leave that for another person. Sorry about that.

To lower your pH, you can try DW, indian almond leaves, peat in your filter, or you can try RO water. The tannins in DW, IAL leaves, and peat is what lowers your pH. Not the actual item it self. You can also try using a different substrate if the pH really matters for you. One of my tanks with fluval shrimp stratum lowered my pH quite a bit! The substrate has peat in it. I'm at about 6.9 pH from like a 7.8 lol

I'm not good at cycling questions, so I'll leave that for another person. Sorry about that.

To lower your pH, you can try DW, indian almond leaves, peat in your filter, or you can try RO water. The tannins in DW, IAL leaves, and peat is what lowers your pH. Not the actual item it self. You can also try using a different substrate if the pH really matters for you. One of my tanks with fluval shrimp stratum lowered my pH quite a bit! The substrate has peat in it. I'm at about 6.9 pH from like a 7.8 lol

yah i have DW but i don't think it has much tannins in it haha