Dead Mystery Snail.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jlbfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am getting a Copper Test Kit (Should have done that before I got the snail).

I have water with a pH of about 7.8, kh of 8 and GH of 0 (thanks to my water softener I think).

Anyway last water change I added Equilibrium to give the snails minterals. Haven't tested the gh since but will as soon as I can.

One mystery snail is gone. All that is left is a foot and a shell.

There are 6 Danios in the tank and that is all. Sand Substrate all water parameters are normal. Water is a bit cold. Adding a heater.

Is there anything else I should check? I am new to sails. I pulled the remaining snail out and gave him a kale leaf for now.

Thanks!
Jana

Well my danios and pearl gourami are frequently seen swimming happily with a small snail in their mouths, never seen one get eaten that's bigger than half a centimeter so that's probably not your problem. :p Maybe your water isn't snail friendly or perhaps the snail just died... Also how did you know it was dead? My larger snails are sometimes floating around at the surface because somehow the got dislodged and floated up. Sooner or later they do somehow manage to get reattached to the wall :)

Nope he is definitely dead. Shell is empty and all that was left was his foot and bits :(.

Both snails were hiding in a cave. Not sure what the problem is. I ordered a copper test kit on amazon. They aren't available at Petsmart. It should be here tomorrow.

Will he he ok in an unfiltered container till then ?

These are about the size of a small grape.