Defying the Critics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Schgred

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have been wanting to write up this post for a while but I didn't want to write it prematurely.

I inherited my Father's saltwater setup back in April. I had a freshwater community tank before my dad gave me his equipment. While he didn't give me everything, he gave me a HOB filter, marineland reef capable led light, about 30 pounds of live rock, and his heater. I was strapped for money but was excited about the prospect of starting my own reef tank. I had been given a 37 gallon aquarium from a friend so I started out in the research. I picked up a seaclone protein skimmer for cheap so I was on my way. After buying new sand, extra base rock to get me to about 50 pounds of rock I set the tank up.

I am a researcher and so reading opinions of the equipment I had left me expecting to grow basic corals at best. I didn't have an RODI filter so I bought some conditioner and used tap water. In many peoples eyes on the internet I was doomed for failure.

I had a
HOB filter
Seaclone protein skimmer
Marineland reef capable led light
And I used tap water

I am writing to say my tank has not failed and in fact my corals are actually growing really well. And surprise surprise, I am not just growing mushrooms, but also lps and SPS corals! They aren't just surviving but are colored well and growing.

After researching the water I decided to buy grocery store RO distilled water for my water changes. In addition, I didn't like the white look of the marineland so I added an innovative marine Skkye actinic light. And I did add a maxi jet for my powerhead.

Until about a month ago my alkalinity was always low but I've been upping that with baking soda and it has stabilized well.

Currently in my tank I am successfully keeping: Zoanthid - 3 colonies
Mushroom
Kenya tree