Feeding betta in community tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BettaSoul

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone. I’m new to fish keeping and I’ve been having a blast reading everything I can about the hobby. My 40 gallon is now fully cycled, the plants are filling in, and the fish are active with great color.

I have killed one fish ?. My king betta did great in the community tank for a month, looked at him one morning and he was doing fine, then 4 hours later he was floating. No outside damage was visible, so I did an autopsy and he was full of food. He didn’t appear bloated from the outside, but I’m pretty sure over eating was the problem. Water parameters were stellar according to my API kit.

I REALLY enjoy bettas in community tanks. He had his own 10GB for a month before I moved him in. After the move, he really colored up and was constantly on the move investigating everything. I never saw a hint of aggression between him and my corys and cherry barbs. But the issue with the food... I’ve read to crush up the Cory pellets and net the betta into a a breeder box during feeding time.

Does anyone have feeding tips for bettas in community settings? Although I’d like a betta as a centerpiece fish, I’m worried to try again...I have to admit I cried when I lost him. Or should I just stick to a solo betta in a 10GB?

Attachments

• 3D0C23FB-DE5A-4029-A772-82A4921E7B19.jpg
    3D0C23FB-DE5A-4029-A772-82A4921E7B19.jpg
    253.8 KB · Views: 34
  • C20DE3FE-B0CC-4899-93CB-B3BC1839E5D0.jpg
    C20DE3FE-B0CC-4899-93CB-B3BC1839E5D0.jpg
    253.7 KB · Views: 38
Really sorry to hear of King's loss.

I have had Bettas in my community tank lots of times. And things worked out. A couple times the Betta was too aggressive and went back to his own space.