filters?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brandonjkoontz1

Aquarium Advice Regular
Starting me second tank. 30 gallon tall. My other 30 gallon has 2 penguin 350 bio wheel power filters. I started that tank with damsels so I want to do somthing where my stock wont be so limited. Its also a fowlr so I don't have a skimmer on it. This new tank I'm ganna try and do a reef tank so does anyone have suggestions on filtration system?

I'm pretty new to the hobby. Iv looked into sumps but I still don't really understand what exactlly goes into one or how it works. Can you shed some light on the subject for me? Id really appreciate it. Iv tried looking it up but every time I find somthing about them it ends up just being for sale with little to no info on the system itself.

So iv been trying to figure out how I'm going to put this together. I understand how a sump works and why there good but I'm still not sure what equipment goes into one. I know there's all kinds of different varients but I'm not sure what I should look into getting. Its for my 30 gallon and I'm clueless. =\

You will want a skimmer for your sump. Only necessary thing is a return pump. Your going to need an overflow box as well. I highly suggest drilling your tank and installing overflow bulkhead and return bulkhead alone with box.

Hang on the back overflows can be unreliable cause your sump to drain and a big mess on the floor. Power outages also can cause problems with hang on overflows.

I mean drilling the display tank to accept 2 bulkheads. One for the overflow and one for the return line from the sump.

Yep. If you do not decide to drill the tank the only hang on overflow i would use is a CPR with the aqua lifter pump. I have had power outages with mine and it always starts up on it's own .