fireplace conversion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

koi-ninja

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello i am new to this form. I am very interested in my fish tank and now my parents are starting to get the bug as well. We want to turn our old fireplace into a tank. I have looked around and can't find anyone who has done this before. Its a gas (fake) fireplace that a part of our entertainment center. It has a glass pannel all around and a solid bottom aside fron the gas vents. Any idea how I would go about this conversion? Thanks for looking. Ps. We are doing a freshwater tank

Hello i am new to this form. I am very interested in my fish tank and now my parents are starting to get the bug as well. We want to turn our old fireplace into a tank. I have looked around and can't find anyone who has done this before. Its a gas (fake) fireplace that a part of our entertainment center. It has a glass pannel all around and a solid bottom aside fron the gas vents. Any idea how I would go about this conversion? Thanks for looking. Ps. We are doing a freshwater tank
Uhm, you would need to put an actual fish tank in there, if you're asking if you can fill the fireplace up, it would be a challenge. I would need some more accurate details.

By the way, Welcome to Aquarium Advice!:)

I would like to fill the actual fireplace if possible but if its out of the idea ill put a tank there. And ill get more details and some picts up soon. Thanks for the help!!

It would depend on what kind of silicone they used to seal it. And is the bottom floor of it glass? I would think that the silicone used is toxic and would need to be scraped off and re-apply a water safe and non toxic silicone. If you have an alternative tank to fit in there, it might just be better.
I'll be waiting for additional information and the pictures:)

These are a few picts of were we wanna put it.