first fish, want a predatory fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scirca

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello!

I am new to fish and am looking to buy a predatory fish (one that eats aggressively, not strictly live fish cause i dont want to be buying a ton of fish for feed). we have a 140 or 150 gallon tank, we dont remember which. this will be my first fish, but my mom has kept many others over the years so she kind of knows what shes doing. i was thinking about getting a arowana because i just love how they look, they just have something about them. but i am not so sure after reading some articles. any suggestions or advice will be much appreciated!