Fish Selection

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ILuvSandwiches

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am planning out a 55+ gallon tank. I am having trouble with what fish to get. It is my first attempt at a tank this size. I would prefer to gat as many fish as possible, fish that won't eat each other, and a variety would be appreciated. Any and all advice is welcome! Thank you!

I would go to your lfs to see what you like. Then post what you like on this thread, and we will tell you if it works.

Ok. I was considering Angel fish, mollys, and plecos. My main concern is them eating each other and the water temperature.

Plecs are generally considered herbivorous. (Actually omnivores)

They'll eat bloodworms but not fish. (I had an 18" plec with 1" tetra, no issues)
Actually a pair of large plecs with assorted small fish were no problems. Gentle giants.

Big shoal of tetra and a Bristlenose. You'll be fine.
(I recommend hemigrammus erythrozonus, glowlight tetra)

Add an aquarium heater and set temp. Heat issues sorted.

Mollies prefer saline water. Quite different from plecs.

What tanks have you attempted?
What species have you kept?
How long have you had a wet arm?

I have definitely ruled out cichlids. They get too big and territorial for my taste (although they are gorgeous). I have had a one gallon and 5 gallon tank in the past. The one gallon had a beta fish that lived about 6 years, and the 5 gallon I had 5 tetras (all female) in. My mother, however, grew up with a 135 gallon tank that had a cichild and large variety of fish.

Mollies, contrary to common advertising, aren't a very good beginner fish.

I frequently recommend the book The Simple Guide to freshwater Aquariums by Boruchowitz for stocking schemes. It's cheap used, or in kindle or iBook editions.