Fishless cycle and low nitrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

orchid1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am new here and have a question about fishless cycling. I am on day 25 of my fishless cycle. At this point I am adding enough ammonia daily to raise it to 2ppm. After 12 hours it is down to 0ppm. My nitrites are between .25 and 0ppm and seem to have been stuck there for a couple of days (hopefully they will keep going down). My question is about Nitrates...they are only around 6ppm (tap water tests 0ppm). Is this normal or should they be higher? It seems like other people have reported much higher nitrates at this stage. This is my first attempt at fishless cycling, so your comments are much appreciated.

Normally nitrates would be much higher. Are you using liquid test kits? I ask because sometimes the strips are not as accurate. Many people around here bring their ammonia to 5ppm so that will contribute to higher nitrate values too.
Have you added any live plants or done any water changes? Either of those will lower the nitrates.
As long as you are adding ammonia daily and your ammonia and nitrites are zero you should be cycled. Have you had your nitrite spike then slowly go down? If so, just wait for your nitrite to reach zero. Be sure to stock slowly and monitor you parameters and you should be ok.

fisch, I am using the API freshwater master kit. In the beginning I did bring my tank up to 5ppm of ammonia, but thought I was supposed to keep it around 2-3ppm after I saw nitrites develop.