Goldfish had hole in the head now a tumor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dillon S

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Just looking to get opinion on what I should do. I’m a pond tech and builder. While doing a repair to someone’s pond I was given a gold fish with hole in the head to kill. Well I didn’t have the heart to….. so he’s living in a tank at my house now. I treated him with melafix for about two weeks and half. His hole in the head went away and a tumor was in its place pretty fast. He went from a hole to a tumor ina day. I’m pretty sure it’s a tumor it doesn’t seem to be getting bigger. It’s an older fan tail with small benign tumors on its fins. The fish seems fine eats and bumps into the tank with its tumor.

Attachments

• 9D28B133-8268-42CF-A211-21A44D01FADA.jpg
    9D28B133-8268-42CF-A211-21A44D01FADA.jpg
    221 KB · Views: 17
  • B86DEF10-A4F1-40EB-8E57-5E65230CD383.jpg
    B86DEF10-A4F1-40EB-8E57-5E65230CD383.jpg
    211.6 KB · Views: 17
  • D9D893B8-B4E7-49D9-B2CD-6BBDC9BA16A7.jpg
    D9D893B8-B4E7-49D9-B2CD-6BBDC9BA16A7.jpg
    186.9 KB · Views: 23
  • 34A35DC4-A48D-48F3-8706-4544B3F1B381.jpg
    34A35DC4-A48D-48F3-8706-4544B3F1B381.jpg
    201.1 KB · Views: 10
I’ve got him in a 10 gal tank just to keep him seperate from my pond (which is a lot cleaner than the one I got him from). Waters sitting at 72 degrees, ph at 7, no nitrates.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Tumors don't grow in a day. They take months to get to something that size. It's more likely to be tissue pushed out from the head with fluid from inflammation. There's no cure for tumours and a wound like that is not going to be healed without some sort of vet treatment, which will probably kill the fish anyway. As much as you dislike the idea of euthanising the fish, it's probably the nicest thing you can do for it.