Hello, fish people.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cechoo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. You all may refer to me as Cechoo.

I am 23, a student, and an avid gamer. I'm not a newbie to the aquarium hobby, but by no means am I a veteran. I first got into the hobby through my mother. I remember being completely in awe at the Violet goby, bumblebee gobies, and mollies that she kept in her 70 gal brackish tank. I have kept a few tanks while I lived with my parents(a betta, assassin snails, kuhli loaches, and angels) I had to give up the hobby, however, when I moved off to college.

I have recently gotten to a more stable living situation, and decided try my hand at fish keeping once more.

Time to introduce my tank:

It's a freshwater 15 Gal that's about 1.5 years old now with an over the back filter, heater, and whisper air pump connected to a piece of limewood. It currently contains 4 Kuhli loaches(they are my favorite) and 5 ghost shrimp. I have attempted introducing 3 zebra dainos at one point, but instead of schooling, they fought constantly and nipped one another's fins, so I returned them. I have also tried 3 male fancy guppies(all of which apparently succumbed to major fin rot on the first day while still in quarantine). I cannot find a reliable LFS at my location so I am stuck with PetSmart and Petco, both of which don't seem to have very healthy fish. So I just have these cute and quirky bottom feeders for now.

The tank is currently decorated with silk plants, a tiny piece of drift wood, and a few rocks. I want to eventually replace all of my fake plants with real ones. To get started, I have java fern and a few marimo balls in order atm and should get them for my tank in a week or so. I also want to replace the yucky gravel with some type of sand, but the method of how and type of sand is still to be decided.
CI6kCds.jpg