Hello,Novice here looking for help to go high end setup, all comments welcome

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

megananthony

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello fellow aqua enthusiasts,
First off, thank you for taking your time to read this. To start, I would consider myself a novice planted tank person. I try to enlighten myself when I can but seems to be overwhelming at times, but I am in for the long haul so. I am trying to step up my game in regards to my planted aquarium and was looking for some intermediate to advanced recommendations on where to go from this point. I will start by reviewing my setup and then what I am looking to accomplish.

• · 36 gallon bowfront
  • · 2 aqueon -T5 lights. 30 and 24 inch – each has a 6.7K daylight and a colormax bulb in it.
  • · Substrate is red eco-complete ( 2bags)
  • · Heat runs around 80 or so
  • · I use seachem flourish every other day (1/2 cap-2.5 ML)
  • · I use liquid co2 everyday – maybe about 5 ML
  • · I have a drop checker – I adjust the liquid co2 accordingly to keep it green with a little tinge of yellow.
  • · I put in root tabs about once every 2 or 3 months – no set schedule on them

• · Using a fluval 306. Also have a small air pump hooked up to an air stone
  • I keep my lights on alot, From say 8 am – 8 pm. I know this is a lot but I like to check out the tank for awhile when I get home from work. The tank does sit close to a window but not in direct sunlight.

• The plants I have are ( I think) Anubis barteri and Anubis congensis (sp?)
I am looking to see better plant growth and be able to add a more diverse range of plant life. I have had this setup for around a year or so, and while the tank and plants do well, I am looking to bring it to the next level

SO.. here is my questions.