Help :( All kinds of tank problems.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bridgie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First things first, I am still pretty new to the fish game. Please try not to judge too harshly - I'm really trying my best to treat my fish right and am having some major trial and error issues.

Okay, so I have a 30 gallon aquarium. Everything was fine (or so I thought) - We started with a few guppies and platys (5 fish total.) Water levels were fine, (ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrates < 20ppm.) Tank had been running for a couple months and cycled.

Then I added a few more and some started to get (what I thought was) nipped fins. Over several days, a few were lost. I assumed the Platys were the problem so I decided to quarantine the two of them in a much smaller tank for a little bit to see how things went (5 gallon - I know it's too small, but it's all the room I had left after the 30. and was definitely not meant to be permanent, just ruling out trouble makers.)

After moving them fins continued to look worse and more shredded, a couple more died. That's when I realized it wasn't nipping at all; it was fin rot. I can only assume one of the last ones I brought in had it when it came, because my levels had been pretty stable even though it isn't a super established tank. Got medicine to fix that but still lost one more.

So I came home from work, checked my water levels and everything was off the charts terrible. My amonia was like 5 ppm. Either a guppy had passed the night before and I didn't see it or it must have died right after I left for work that morning.