Help! Cardinal tetras keep dying!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lukesfishies

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone!

Quick backstory:

I'm quite new to fishkeeping, but I've made an effort to do everything correctly and I've done a lot of research on the right procedures.

I have a ~30gal tank, and after it was fully cycled I added 6 guppies to it, a few weeks ago. The guppies are very happy and have grown a fair bit, and have become very colourful and active. This Saturday, I added 3 Pakistani loaches, 4 assassin snails, and just over 10 cardinal tetras. Ammonia is 0, nitrite is 0, nitrate is between just over 10ppm, the pH is constant at between 7.4 and 7.6 (a bit alkaline I know), and the water in my area is slightly soft. I did a water change the day before getting the fishes (Friday). I also have two airstones and the tank is fairly planted.

OK now onto the problem:

Yesterday night, one of the tetras was floating around vertically, swimming around occasionally. I took him out and quarantined him in a fishbowl with a heater and water from the tank. He floated around, but lived for a bit, then died sometime during the night. His tailfin was mostly destroyed, but the others were fine tail wise.