HELP, Just realized the 75g I bought doesn't have a centerbrace!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

philipraposo198

Aquarium Advice Addict
i bought this tank used a week ago, I have since cleaned it and I currently have it filled full in the laundry room to test for any leaks. The tank appears to look like brand new. silicon is near mint condition.

the glass is most definitely bowing though.

thoughts?!?!

measures 18.25inch at the corners and 19 inch in the dead center when full. I am worried about the amount of bowing but I have to assume this is meant to be or why wouldn't they have put a center brace on.

i would really like some reassurance on what should or should not be done here.

thanks!

yes it has a top rim not one solid thing it looks like its in sections that snap / lock together.

i am new to this so i dunno.

i will try and post a pic

Here is what I am trying to describe

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1394574234749.jpg
    1394574234749.jpg
    35.5 KB · Views: 113
  • 1394574248505.jpg
    1394574248505.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 124
  • 1394574259423.jpg
    1394574259423.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 114
That looks like a cheaply made tank if the top rim isn't one solid piece on top of missing the brace... I wouldn't trust it without the center brace, especially if you're already noticing some bowing. Water + substrate pushing against the glass will only worsen the problem.

it looks like the top rim was intentionally designed this way to allow for some flex and not crack. This is just my opinion on why they wouldn't just made one piece.

the tank is pretty heavy, if i had to guess i would say its at least 80-90lbs.
dims are 48x18.25x19