Help me start a new tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

molliwopp

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi, new to the forums and could use some help.
Ive just bought a new tank andnits my first. Im an avid animal lover and will do what it takes to make sure my tank is cycled before adding fish of any kind.

Im a complete novice in fish keeping so ive started small. I have a 70ltr juwel rekord that came with a filter and heater. I also bought some dechlorinator (obviously) and some other water safe that adds nitrifying and bacillus bacteria. Ive just been reading that it will go nowhere without food for the bacteria.

Its confusing me actually. So any info you have or things i can read to help me get my head around it would be great.
I know nothing, i know nothing about ph levels... Nitrate levels.. Or anything really. Sitting, looking at my new, decorated, water filled tank is hard but i wont risk the health of any Fish

I know of ways to kick start my tank but would have no idea when or how i would be able to tell if not was ready for fish.

Thanks for the quick reply. Will definitely give this a read on my phone tonight in bed.

One thing ive been reading is i need amonia to start a fishless cycle right. Ill get some tomorrow and work out how much i need to put in.

Right so ive been out and bought a water testing kit and some 'boimature' which is a bacteria food.. In the uk pure ammonia isnt legal to buy so this had to do. I already have the bacteria solution which contains the bacteria and obviously dechlorinator.

Im going to read though your link right now but though i would update first. Thanks.