Help! My two new fish died!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishMom109

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
The other day we went out and bought a tank, supplies and fish. I bought an irridescent shark about 2", a gold dojo about 2.5" and a pleco, I think it's a common... he's about 2.5" too. The tank is a 29 gallon tank and we bought it when we bought the fish. I know that we were supposed to cycle it, but I've never done it with tanks before, and I know people that have just popped their fish in and have lived, so we didn't with ours.

I have an octagon shaped 5 gallon tank that had the old filters in it that I ran for 2-3 days in the hopes of it cycling. I read on here, or some other forum, that I could do that because the filters had the bacteria in them that I needed for my new tank.

When we brought the tank home, we rinsed everything off, decorations, rocks plants, and rinsed the tank out as well. The night before we got the fish and tank, I filled up some buckets and water pitchers with water so that they would be room temperature by the time we got home with the fish so that we didn't shock them or anything. When we got home with our new pets, we kept them in the bag and set the in the smaller 5 gallon tank so they could adjust to the water and began filling up the tank with the room temperature water that we had prepared. Once the tank was almost full, we put the 5 gallon tank water into the 29 gallon, and added the water conditioner that came with it. We turned on the heater that came with it and we put our new fish in. They did pretty good and have been alive and swimming around fine up until this morning.