Help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LCieParagon

Aquarium Advice Activist
To preface, I work at a pet store, one that sells fish.

I have a 10 gallon tank. Please don't lecture me to get a bigger one. I live in a 250 sq ft apartment. I do considerable research on fish, and I'm a teacher for a living. I know danios generally like a 20 gallon, but I make do in my 10 quite fine. It's much better than some other tanks out there. I'm also aware blue rams like a 20 or larger too, but I've done my research, and I've seen them thrive in 10g environments.

It's been running for 10 months or so. The past 10 months I had 3 kuhlii loaches, 2 danios, and a betta.

I finally moved this tank to my apartment yesterday. It's pretty. Well-planted, and well taken care of. I keep my temp at 80 degrees always.

Yesterday, I purchased 2 blue rams, 3 danios, 2 snails, and a bunch more plants.

Tank seemed great. No fights, very peaceful, and vivid colors.

Here's the problem:

Over the past few hours, it seems the blue rams have gotten white spots all over them (like now they are completely covered) and are swimming very peculiar and look like they are dying. It's only these two fish. I don't know why. They haven't been nipping each other. What's happening? Can someone offer some light? I'm really confused about this.

I'll post a picture of my tank.

eX6zliO.jpg

Ouch!
It sounds as though your fish have "ich" which is a very common parasite. It was probably brought in by some of the new fish you bought, or maybe the plants were in a tank with infected fish.

The best article I've found on treating it is this one here - it describes several different methods - I used the "heat only" method and found it most successful and least stressful (also in a 10 gallon tank, by the way)