Help with Black Moor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sbjames

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to fish and to this site. We got this Black Moor about 6-8 months ago and have only changed the water by adding new water when it has evaporated.

About a week ago, my fish started staying on the bottom of the tank. It occasionally swam around to eat food or grab some air at the top of the tank. After buying fish disease tablets and water conditioner and still seeing no change, I changed 50% of the tanks water (maybe more) and cleaned out the gravel (the water was very brownish green with the gravel).

After the water change my fish was curved at the end of it's body as it's seen in the photo and moves even less. I also can't tell if those are specks on it's tail fins or not.

I've tried to look up solutions and found this site. I would appreciate any help.

Also, when we first got this fish, we bought a gold fantail and an additional black moor with it. Both died within a week or two but this one survived and has been with us since.

Thanks!

Owner/Photographer - SBJamesPhotography - Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium

Attachments

• image-2131551649.jpg
    image-2131551649.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 156
You should be cleaning your tank regularly and changing your water, not topping it off. Do you have a test kit? What are your parameters? Your moor has ich, and it looks pretty bad to be honest. You need to slowly raise your tank's temperature to 86°F and keep it there for two weeks after the last white spot has disappeared. Then slowly bring your tank's temperature back down to normal and do a good gravel cleaning.

meegosh said: