Help With Scallops?????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

revhtree

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am sure that this has been discussed 1000 times, but i am new to this and cant seem to find what i am looking for. So if you can help, I would be very thankful. Here it goes:
I got 100pds of live rock the other day in my 2 week 75 gallon tank. Attached to the roch was 2 scallops about 2 1/2 inches long. Many people have said that they are hard to keep alive, and feed. Here is the delimma: I dont know what to feed them or how. I am afraid that they will die and I surely dont want that. They are active I guess. At night or when the light is off that open up. I have had them for about 3 days now. All help will be gladly welcomed. Thanks All. :?

Well you can try phytoplankton and feed them directly . They are filter feeder, and if you have nothing in the water for them to eat, they starve. I tried like heck to keep a flame scallop with no luck.

What would be in the water for them to eat?

How do you directly feed them?

I am what you would call..............Fish STUPID!

Bare with me.

Their survivabilty is not usually long lived as a rule but you might try this article....

Flame scallops by Rob Toonen

Cheers
Steve

Looks like if you feed them the right stuff you can have them for a few years.. 2-3... I think I'll try my much food in my tank when it's ready !

Wow, glad I stumbled on this thread in my search, some great info. in that article.

I just added a very healthy looking flame scallop to my tank yesterday. I currently feed green lifeline, mysis, daphnia, and cyclop-eeze supplemented with some marine flake and pellets.

I will be heading back to the LFS to pick up some phytoplankton for target feeding. Will 2-3 times a week be enough phytoplankton?

Hopefully, I can will have some luck with it as it is a beautiful animal.