Hi all

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Matti

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to keeping fish and have a 10 gallon starter tank with 4 oranda and 1 Blackmore, with live plants, only been set up for 2 weeks now water is very clear all fish are doing well (fingers crossed) hope to upload some pics soon and start chatting with some other users

Hi Matti and welcome!!! Do you have an API freshwater test kit? If not, pick up one ASAP & a good water conditioner such as Prime. I am sorry to have to tell you this, but you are heavily, heavily overstocked. Five fancies need atleast a 60gallon tank minimum. 10g is really too small for even a single fancy. I would honestly do 50% water changes with temperature matched, properly conditioned water atleast twice daily until you can address your stocking situation- once you get a test kit, you may have to do this even more frequently based on your toxin levels. At only 2wks in, your tank is likely not properly cycled as well- heres a link with more information. Please do not hesitate to ask questions!

I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?!

Thankyou for your advice, I must have been told wrong information by my local pet store they are a very large company called pets at home I did ask how many fish I could stock in the size tank that I also purchased from them, I asked them on 2 separate occasions and both times said 7 so I thought I won't take their advice and do 2 less than what they recommended.