Hi! I have a quick question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fisherdashery

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I have some new fish in my tank and almost all of them are tetra size except for one molly that i wasn't planning on getting but the shop gave me for free. He is super chill to all the fish except for on of my tiger endlers who he keeps trying to mate with. He is twice the size as the endler and I don't want it to get pregnant and not be able to carry the molly half of the crossbreeds. Is this something I should worry about or no? I don't have anywhere else to keep the molly and don't want to free it or flush it for obvious reasons. What should I do, if anything? Is the endler likely to survive? Thank you! Sorry if these are dumb questions I'm pretty new at this. ???

Molly/ guppy hybrids are possible. If you dont want to deal with hybrid offsping bag up the molly and return it to the store. Dont accept free fish you dont want again.

Oh I don't mind if there are babies i just don't want to lose the endler. But if it'll work out then I'm all for it! Thank you again! ?

Just be aware that livebearers will breed and breed and breed. The offspring will just build up and quickly overtake a tank. At least the hydrid offspring wont be fertile, so you dont have to worry about them breeding with each other, but as long as you have males and females that are compatible with each other you will have an overpopulation problem down the line.

If the molly is only interested in one of the guppies it might harass the fish too much as the attention isnt spread about.

One of the downsides to a male molly and a female guppy/endler is that the fry can be too big for the female to birth. It's better to have a male Guppy/Endler mate with a female Molly. If your concern is not losing the Endler, I would not keep it with a molly of the opposite sex.