How do I know if I would like cichlids?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

underwater

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I read they have more personality than most fish, right? It tends to bother me seeing fish pick on other fish, so does that mean I should avoid cichlids? Some of them seem more colorful, which is very good in my book.

I definitely don't want big/medium fish so I would stick with the smaller dwarf types.

I believe cichlids eat more expensive food and maybe more volume? I know they aren't compatible with a lot of fish, but there are still enough potential tankmates I believe. Also I know each male would want its own little cave space.

What else should I consider when deciding if I should get cichlids or go with another type? (I am still a newbie but I believe the other possible main types would be: goldfish, saltwater, reef, brackish, community, semi-aggressive, and ones focusing on plants or inverts... are there more types?)

I am somewhat interested in trying to breed SOME type of fish, so maybe I should try with cichlids. I know they are a bit more difficult, but... that is something else I am curious about and don't know if this should be a reason why I should go with cichlids.

Thanks.

the answer is yes and no. the problem is cichlids is a very large group of fish. its hard to answer something so board.

many cichlids are aggressive but not all. some are very territorial.

they dont really eat more expensive food. all fish should be fed high quality food.

there are so many different types of set ups out there. i know endless amounts of freshwater and i am sure there is that many sw too.

some cichlids are super easy to breed like cons. people say add cons shack bag remove fry. they can breed faster then guppies. again since its a big group of fish its hard to say this or that about them.