How do I know if my tank is beginning to cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

therealnickster

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. I am fairly new to aquariums and I need some help. Here is my honest story.
I have a 40 gallon pentagon tank that I have had running for 2 weeks. My father had found the tank in an abandoned apartment and brought it home knowing that I have always wanted one. The previous owners had left to die a goldfish and a cory catfish. Upon the tank arriving (not knowing anything about aquariums), I removed the two fish and thoroughly cleaned the tank, gravel, filter, and decorations. I put the two fish back into their aquarium with unconditioned water. Then I went to the pet store and purchased new filter cartridges, food, more plant decorations, water conditioner, and a TON of new fish. Back at home I set up the new tank with all the things I bought including all the fish. The following day I check the tank and all is good. I then went back to the pet store to purchase more things for the new tank. I came across the API test strips and purchased the 5 in 1 strips and the strips to detect ammonia. I come home, check the water and surprisingly everything is fine. The next few days, everything is going great. I go back to the pet store and purchase even MORE fish.
After that first week, only 2 fish did not make it. After the death of those two neon tetras I FINALLY began to browse the internet on what caused their death. That is when I realized what I had done. I became obsessed with researching what I could do to help and save my beloved fish. I learned all about the nitrogen cycle and tried to inform myself as much as possible about aquariums.