How to cure ich? First timer.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cass95

Aquarium Advice Freak
This is the first time my fish has ever gotten sick. So I have no experience with sick fish but I have some background knowledge. Last night I did a 50% water change and today I woke up with my rummynose tetra with ich. White spots on their fins and body. They are still swim and being active. In the same tank, no else has ich.
The current stock:
5 sterbai cory
8 rummynose
6-8 oto
2 peacock gudgeon
5 amano shrimp
The tank is cycled.
How to cure ich? Would I need to add aquarium salt? If so, would it harm my cories and plants? I know the tanks temperature has to be raise at 82° F. But for how long?

Temp needs to go to 86.

Don't use salt as it will damage live plants.

Heat alone can usually resolve ich. It will look worse before it he's better. This is because heat speeds up the life cycle so it passes faster

Caleb

For how long would the temperature need to be at 86?

Thank you, after a week should I do a big water change?

If you are going heat only mae sure you get p to 86.
Vacuum and change some water everyday as the ich it will fall to substrate and is then multiplying if not dying.
Keep heat up 1 week after you see last spot.
I use meds but your shrimp won't like them so heat is .

Thanks for the help. How long should I wait to add more fish once the ich is gone?

Thanks for the help. How long should I wait to add more fish once the ich is gone?

IMO at least 2 weeks. Or get them now and Quarantine them in a different tank. This is recommended anyway to prevent this situation from happening again.

Caleb

What would be the best way to quarantine fish? Adding establish filter media from not infected tank to a filter?

What would be the best way to quarantine fish? Adding establish filter media from not infected tank to a filter?