I am a beginner, what do I do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beginner Fish Lover

Aquarium Advice Regular
I currently have a 26 gallon tank (I Think?) and I don't know what to do. I have 4 tiger barbs, 1 rosy barb, 2 scissor tail rasboras, 2 snails, and 2 different colored glofish. I don't for sure know the genders and there are only three decorations. No live plants or driftwood yet, does anybody have any suggestions?

Last edited:
Welcome! I learned so much here in the past few weeks, it's crazy. The people here are super smart and helpful to us newbies.

First thing they are going to ask is, "is your tank cycled properly?"

If no, then we have some work to do :)

Yup, the people on this site are great! I'm not new to fish keeping, but fairly new to this site. I finally got tired of fake plants, so I joined here to get some info on live ones. I haven't been here long, but that's been plenty of time to find a lot of people who really know their stuff. :)

Personally, I would ask the following:

1. How long has the tank been setup?

2. What are you water parameters? Example: PH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate

If you're looking for advice on live plants to get, I'll let somebody with more "green" experience than I have answer that... The only driftwood advice I'll offer is this: Avoid the mopani driftwood from Petco, unless you don't want to be able to see your fish.....

Welcome to AA! Jessibell and Jestes are right. Just like your doctor, we need some basic information to get started.