I want to go all out, help me pick things out :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WizardHowl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys! I'm new here, but I've had a 10 gallon tank going for 2 years now, never had a problem, and now I finally have the money and space to expand! I need a lot of advice on what to do because I'm very indecisive, and I don't know too much still, especially doing larger tanks. Here are my questions

1. Should I go with 55, 75, 90 gallon tanks? I really don't have any idea on stocking tanks (my 10 gallon only has a glowfish, mickey mouse platy, candy platy, and a siemenses). Is it possible to do cichlids mixed with other fish? What size would give me a good amount of options. Even though I'm pretty new at this, I want to just start with the good equipment at the beginning so I won't have to expand later.
2. Would any of these tanks with stand and canopy, filled with water be ok for hardwood floors? (aka not damage anything)
3. What kind of lighting should I get. I know the strip lighting that comes with most tanks won't be sufficient enough. I like plants a lot, and I'd like to get enough light to possibly do red plants, do these have to have C02 and such? How are PC lighting? What about T5's?
4. Will a high powered AC filter be fine? Do I need powerheads or anything else?
5. Other than food, testkits, etc. what else should I get?

Thanks a lot, I really appreciate it!

i would get the largest tank you can afford and have room for.

don't forget about the price of the filter, heater, substrate, light, ect.. in the price of the tank.

for a larger tank, a canister is the way to go.

1. I would decide what type of fish you want and then decide on the tank size. I think that everyone here will tell you that bigger is better.

2. Your wood floors will depend on how careful you are with water changes. :wink: