Introduction

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Larry Little

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello;my name is Larry Little (yes, really). I'm 62 years old, married with 3 kids and 5 grandkids. I began keeping aquariums when my mom gave me my first 5-gallon tank at age 4. I had a female Betta named Betty (remember, I was 4 years old). My mom began keeping Tanks in 1935, so you couold say it's in my blood. I have a bachelor's degree and a Master's degree, both in Zoology from Oklahoma State University and worked for the Tulsa Zoological Park for the first 5 years past college in Aquariums and Reptiles. After I left the Zoo, I dropped aquarium keeping for more than 30 years and am just now starting again. In addition to my aquariums, we have two dogs, three cats and four tortoises (2 adult red-footed, one juvenile leopard, one juvenile marginated). I took up scuba diving several tears ago which I love. There is nothing like being 60'underwater and seeing animals on their terms rather than on mine.

In the time since I last kept tanks, it seems like the technology has left me in the stone age. When I quit, UV sterilizers were just coming on, no one had ever heard of LED lighting, and Bio-whee filters were the new and coming thing. I knew nothing about CO2 injection for plants until I began researching for getting back into the game.

For the record, I HATE artificial plants and decorations; I won't even let my wife put a little "Gone Fishing" sign in the corner of a tank.If anyone takes offense, please forgive me. I've always kept live plants, real rocks, and now wood in my aquaria.

Speaking of which, the variety of plant species for aquarium keepers has exploded since I last kept them. I spent almost 6 months just trying to figure out what plants I wanted to try in my tanks.