Is it safe? (Silicone on new tank question!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quasar

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone!

So I am completely new to the fishkeeping hobby, and I really don't know much about... much lol... especially the hardware side of things! Though I've been learning there's still so much I don't know! Anyway, I was just getting my brand new aquarium set up, I finished the leak test on it, and as I was emptying it, I noticed this part on the bottom right (outside) corner where the silicone is missing. The glass seems okay, and there was no leaking during the leak test. Mostly just wondering if this is going to cause any structural or integrity issues later on down the line.

It's a brand new Fluval Flex 32.5 gallon. And actually this is a replacement for one they originally sent me that was defective so this is already my second attempt trying to get started �� This is my first time owning an aquarium so I just want to make sure everything is safe (and structurally sound) before adding my new fish friends. I'm feeling a little nervous about that gap down in the corner. Especially after my experience with the first tank they sent me that needed replacing.

Any advice or opinions (even a little) would be helpful! Thank you!!!

(I tried to attach a picture.... sorry it's sideways lol!)

Attachments

• 20230326_110836.jpg
    20230326_110836.jpg
    245.8 KB · Views: 34
It looks like there is tape on the outside of the tank, is there tape on it?

Can you circle the area you are concerned about and maybe take a few more pictures (one from either side of that corner) with more light on it so we can see things a bit easier?

The forum makes all the pictures end up on their side. It makes it hard to work out what is going on sometimes :)

It looks like there is tape on the outside of the tank, is there tape on it?