Is my cycle normal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nik74

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone.

Just wondering if my cycle is normal as i'm new to all this.

I've had my tank (21.5L Blue Planet Hexy Mini) doing a fish in cycle for 2 weeks. It houses a male betta.

Started the tank with live plants, driftwood, heater (26degrees C) and API stress coat, left for 24 hours. Added Stress Zyme before adding my Betta (Cyril :))

After the first week, the Ammonia was really high, with 0 Nitrites and 0 Nitrates (not sure of the exact ammonia reading as was done by the pet store).

Went home and on advice from pet store, did a 50% water change. (added both Stress Coat and Stress Zyme too).

Then on day 10 my little nephew decided to put a handful of grit/sand/ash from my gas open fire into the aquarium. I got out as much as I could but had to do another 50% water change to make sure the water was clean. Also added more stress coat, zyme etc.

At this point I also changed the sponge and carbon in the filter (think this could have been a bad idea?).

Since day 10 I've been monitoring the chemical levels daily with API Freshwater Master Test Kit.

Basically my readings have pretty much been the same everyday.

PH 6.0
Ammonia 0.25 (sometimes slightly creeping to between 0.25 and 0.5)
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 0

Think my PH may be too low but not sure?

Slightly worried about the ammonia as Cyril sometimes has a frenzy where he rubs himself on the gravel and driftwood and his bottom fin is starting to look a bit seperated (stringy). He doesn't do this all the time though. He got a hole in his top fin, but that's healed now.

I've been doing a 15% - 25% water change daily to help with the ammonia.

He's eating fine. I feed him Tetra BettaMin flakes once a day (not too much and never leave scraps in the tank). (tried Blood worms but he wont go near them).