Just bought a new dog for my fish tank....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FISH_r_FRIENDS

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Haha,

Sorry I had to change it to something that would make people notice!

Ok, so just like everyone else here I'm new to keeping fish and I went to my local shop and bought a 25-30lt tank I only say that because it's not actually fully rectangular it comes bows out a bit in the front.

So what I want to get from this forum is some help/tips on keeping:
A MY FISH ALIVE :lol:
B keeping it clean
C looking great

I have set up my tank as directed by the guy at the shop put the filter,temp and light and (put the water cleaner , and good bacteria stuff) then I heated the water( I'm looking to have tropical fish) to 26 degrees and left it for three days, I went today and bought 4 fish, two guppies and two others that I will have to get the name of, or I can post a pic of them if that helps and two small plants , how long until i can bu more fish? so obviously I want to keep them as long as Posb, bt what is the life expectancy of guppies for example? I was also looking at buying maybe a snail or a small fish that will eat any alge/poo etc that I may get? Good idea? Any recommendations bearing in mind the size of my tank? And finally any good sites to get various ornaments or items that would look good?

Much love

Keep those fish swimming!

Sydney australia

I would be hesitant to add any more fish until I know what the non-guppies are. You'll need to be doing at least 10% water changes at least once a week.