lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish_fanatic

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok I am just starting out with saltwater. I will be starting a 20 gallon high tank and I am completely lost when it comes to lighting. I want to have enough wattage that can pretty much support any live coral or plant. about how much wattage am i looking at?

Also should I be looking at fluorescent lights or incandescent lights? Any help would be appreciated

PC lighting..... Power Compact would work fine, I'm not a lighting expert they say 4-6watts per gal if I remember right..... Someone will jump in soon if I'm way off.

Any coral hmm... That will cost alot (Metal Halide). If you want most corals, then go with PC it is alot cheaper. I'd say 2*65watt, or 2*96watt is good. Look at Coralife and Current USA fixtures.

You cannot go wrong with the coralife fixtures. I have had little to no complaints about them from customers. The current USA fixtures however have had more problems then the coralife. If you have any questions on the coralife fixtures please let me know!

no SPS or LPS but softies would be fine as well as macro algae. if you wanted stony corals go with MH lighting, youll have the best results with them.

i have a current USA orbit 24" and its superb, ive never had a problem with it, but i have heard bad things about the satellite series. i also have a mini coralife unit that i have never had a problem with, i went with current USA b/c of the builtin moonlight fixture... superficial, i know but its really cool :)

just IME, IMO...

my tank dimensions are 24" long by 12.5" wide by 16.5" high.

What I was gonna do was put a sheet of glass on top of my tank and have 5 20 watt Power Compact Corallife bulbs for now. This I find is the cheapest way to do it and since i'm only starting out I figure it could work...am i wrong?