lucky?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smomus

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'm not sure why I haven't killed my fish!? I bought my 30 gal fully ready...or so I thought. I've had very little experience with fish so after buying this used tank I threw it all together added water (at least I knew enough to add dechlorinator) and added the fish. I did 25% pwc about every 3 days for 3 our so weeks but that's it.
Then I realize that the filter needed, well, a filter ha! It was just turning water, not actually filtering it. While looking for the right filter, I decide I want an air pump, too. While looking at the air pumps that are next to the heaters, i realize the heater that came with the used tank is for a 5-10g tank, a third the size of mine! Ugh! So I go home and rinse everything off, lower the water, add the filter media, air stones, and new heater, fill the tank back up and let it run for a few days.
Then I decide I don't like the way it looks so I catch all the fish (oh btw i've figured out I inherited a way over stocked tank) put them in a bucket and totally clean out the tank. By that I mean take everything out, bleach the decorations and tank and wash the filter and gravel/rocks with HOT water. Put everything back in, add some dechlorinator wait for an hour or 2, test for ammonia, and put fish back in..
Though this all I still have the exact same fish. On Monday I finally bought the full API master testing kit. When I tested the water the ammonia was at .25 where its always been. The Ph was about 8.2, trite 0, and trate 40. I did about 25% pwc last night and today the only thing that changed was the trates and they lowered to 5ppm.