My First SW Tank (Pictures!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DRock

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everybody,

This is my first saltwater tank, I have experience with freshwater, but am a complete newb in the land of saltwater. I have converted our old freshwater 20g into a salt set up and currently have the following equipment on the tank.

- Penn-Plax Cascade 700 Canister filter with a directional spout set up
- A heater (Can't remember brand and wattage)
- About 8 pounds of base rock
- 6 pounds of Fiji live rock
- 20 pounds of live reef sand
- Cheapo light that came with the tank

Here are a few pics of my aquascape, as well as a few pictures of some hitchhiking corals and a starfish that snuck in on my live rock.

My tank is on day in the cycle and hasn't spiked ammo yet.

Any and all advice, especially on the topic of lights, is more than welcome!

Thanks,
Darrell

Attachments

• Day2 2.jpg
    Day2 2.jpg
    141.4 KB · Views: 344
  • Day2 3.jpg
    Day2 3.jpg
    177 KB · Views: 359
  • Day2 5.jpg
    Day2 5.jpg
    183.2 KB · Views: 348
Looking good! What are your plans for the tank? What would you like to keep in it?

I plan to have a pair of clownfish, a few different crabs/snails, a goby/shrimp pair, and possibly a firefish. I'm leaning towards two Emerald crabs and a team of astrea snails. After having the tank established for about a year or so and setting up a 10g refugium underneath, I'd love to have a mandarin and a self sustaining colony of copepods, but I've never done one and don't want to rush into that and hurt the fish. Outside of that I just plan on keeping some different zoas, mushrooms, and maybe a few LPS's like torches, frogspawn, etc. But I know I need more lighting and flow before then.

Day 5 update