New Aquarium feeding problem.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alankevis

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys, I'm very new in this department. I just recently set up a 90 gallons aquarium, everything is tested (water condition is great) with 1 large filter and 1 powerhead. A heater and 2 bubblers on two ends.

Current in the tank are: 3 x Angel Fish, 1 x Silvertipped Shark, 1 x Pleco, 2 x Tiger barbs and 1 x Eclipse Catfish.

They seem to live happy together. However, I'm sure you notice why I only have 2 Tiger barbs in there. Well 5 x Tiger barbs when first introduced to the tank (2 days ago) However, this morning, there were only 2 left. A day before, I left the light on all night. However, last night I turned the light off (complete darkness)
I'm thinking my catfish ate those 3 tiger barbs. The catfish is a veteran and he's 6" at this moment while the new fishes are quite small.

Is there a way that I can prevent this to further happen? (I'm planning to get some tiger barbs to replace those missing)

:welcome: to the forum!

If they are small enough to fit into the catfish's mouth and they are totally missing, that is probably what happened. Which, if they were eaten, r u sure you want to buy more? The only way to prevent this is to buy fish large enough to not fit in other of your fish's mouths. Feeding your fish more may help, but its still bound to happen at some point. How much do you feed your fish daily? every other day?

Every other day is right, I don't want to overfed them. But the catfish never eats anything in daylight which is what I'm afraid of.

I'm thinking leaving the light on all night and turn it of in the daylight. Would that be too much light?