New, Fascinated and need lots of advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SweetMelissa

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Everyone-

I am new to Aquarium Advice, new to the aquarium hobby and new to community forums. I recently moved and during the transition I adopted a 55 gallon "established?" aquarium. I have never owned anytime of fish, nor do I think I would have picked this hobby up had it not been thrown at me. I am completely in it now, I have read everything I can think of to google, watched 1 million YouTube videos, I would think with all this "new" knowledge I would feel a tad more confident then I do. To put it frankly, I am nervous and scared for my new fishy family. So I am here hoping to get some guidance and gain more knowledge before I do anything else with the aquarium.

Aquarium story... the tank came with the house :) I have research and found that the fish in it are Convict Cichlid (about 17) and one Angelfish (so worried about the Angelfish) and one HUGE sucker fish (don't know the name of him/her yet).

I know for sure the aquarium has not been cleaned, or had anything done to it besides feeding the fish for about 4, maybe 6 months. Honestly, it could be longer, I don't know the signs to look for to be able to tell what condition everything is in. I have had two fish die since they have been mine, about a week and a half.