New fish constantly have long stringy poop

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

abak42

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:confused: Please could someone help me. I have had a aquarium tank '600 REKFORD TANK' for around a year. I have had harlequin fish for around ten months. All has been going well with them. I brought 2 new fish around 2 days ago they are called 'pineapple !!!!!! not sure of full name. Since i put them in the tank they have been constantly passing very long stringy poop! Its happening nearly allday and all the 'strings of poop' are laying around my lovely fish tank. I am very concerned as i am new to having aquarium fish and very worried about there well-being and the harlequin fish that i have had for a year. Please can someone let me know is this normal for fish to be pooping all-day and so much off it?????????? Thank you Alison

It could be the food they got in the LFS. Don't feed them for a day or two to get it out of their system, then put them on your regular food. If it doesn't help, then I'm not sure what's up.

It could definitely be overfeeding.

It's totally possible that the LFS was overfeeding. I would follow Homedog's advice on this one.

I have feeder minnows for my leporinus and they always have stringy poop. It's so ugly. I feed them once a day. So I don't know if maybe it's the type of fish or the diet but I know I have tried two differnt foods TetraMin tropical flakes and the the aquaeon tropical flakes and they do it with both foods. If the change in diet doesnt work I'd say it's the fish.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium

Clear stringy poop is a sign of internal parasites (Overfeeding would most likely cause constipation more than string poop...). Did you happen to QT the fish?