New here - My Festae Cichlid Journal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrfestae

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everyone,

A bit about myself: Been keeping fish for 3 years now. I have done the planted tank thing with a bunch of different community type fish. Decided to switch things up and find a big ol wet pet to connect with.

I choose to try festae cichlid for this as I always admire this fish on youtube. My goal is to keep a solo male but I wouldn't be opposed to keeping a pair if I can do it without having to worry too much about the male beating her up constantly.

I bought 8 very young festae fry (.75-1"). I have them currently growing out in a 90g with plans for a 180g or 220g once needed. Hope to get lots of great advice on here and share the progress along the way. I have no experience with fish this big so this should be very very exciting :)

Would love to hear what the more experience fish keepers have to offer in terms of care tips / grow out advice. I will post some pictures in a few days once my light comes in from shipping (old light died on me as soon as I got these little guys).

That is all for now,

~ mrfestae

I'm also a big fan of Red Terrors, and kept a group of 6 in an aggressive community tank for two years. Started with juveniles in a 65 gal. Then expanded to a 120 gal. I found that out of the group, only one male and one female actually colored up. Both quickly outgrew the others.
I kept a beautiful male RIvulatus, GT, with the RT's. He was larger, and more aggressive. The GT's bad attitude actually kept peace amongst the Red Terrors. They evidently were too worried about the GT to fight each other.
You don't necessarily have to make a wet pet out of Red Terrors if you have a big tank. Don't believe everything you read about their potential huge size and uncontrollable aggression.