New here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chaotic_reefer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I'm new to this app, been reefing for about 5 years, currently just have one 65 gallon bow front reef tank, I'm not very knowledgeable on lighting but have been doing research on the best type of lighting for my coral, I've read that I want a bulb around 10k-15k "cool color" I figured I could get a couple of fixtures and hang them above the tank with those lights, and possibly have a secondary actinic for night, can anyone give me there opinion or advice on this, I'm trying not to spend 500 on one of the nice led fixtures made for this, any opinions are very appreciated, thank you.

Also I have a plastic brace along the center on my tank that goes from the front to the back, I obviously don't want to remove that, any advice on how to get around melting that thing would be great also.

Hi I'm new to this app, been reefing for about 5 years, currently just have one 65 gallon bow front reef tank, I'm not very knowledgeable on lighting but have been doing research on the best type of lighting for my coral, I've read that I want a bulb around 10k-15k "cool color" I figured I could get a couple of fixtures and hang them above the tank with those lights, and possibly have a secondary actinic for night, can anyone give me there opinion or advice on this, I'm trying not to spend 500 on one of the nice led fixtures made for this, any opinions are very appreciated, thank you.

Also I have a plastic brace along the center on my tank that goes from the front to the back, I obviously don't want to remove that, any advice on how to get around melting that thing would be great also.

welcome to the forum glad you found us (y)
I have a center brace on my 90g never had a problem melting the brace ,