New tank - Nitrite problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paulc

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a novice at this so please bear with me

Bought my first tank (92 litre) 3.5 weeks ago, all the books i've read say it should take about 2 weeks to cycle but you can help the process by adding a bacteria substance like stress zyme. I've done this but the nitrite level is still too high at approx 0.25 mg/l

I was hoping to get fish in before Xmas, so any advice would be much
appreciated

Thanks
Paul

Welcome to AA :invasion:

What type of cycling are you doing (fish/fishless)? Depending on method, it can take several weeks. The only additive that helps move the cycle faster is bio-spira. Stress zyme and/or cycle will give some hope but really do nothing to completely cycle the tank.

What are your other parameters (ammonia, nitrate, ph)?

Thanks for the welcome!

I'm fishless, bit scared to add any until the nitrite drops as I thought the current level was too toxic

I've read about bio-spira but I don't believe its available here in the UK

Nitrate level is fine
I was advised not to bother testing ammonia as Nitrite is more important, also told there was no need for a ph test either - bad advice??

What is your ammonia source if your doing fishless? Testing ammonia is always a good idea as you will know when the cycle is completed (0 ammonia result). You will need to test the ph when you are ready to bring your inhabitants into your tank. It's always better to be prepared than have to react due to problems down the road.

I was told to add a few flakes of fish food with the stress zyme

What other sources of ammonia could I add?