New to fish tanks and in need of some advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BridgetW724

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all!! I am new to fish tanks and in need of some advice! I just decided to start a small 10 gallon aquarium and I need a little advice. I saw some fish at my local pet store and they were called Glofish. I thought they were kinda neat looking so my husband and I decided to buy a blue LED light and a 10 gallon tank and set that up and go with 5 of the "Glofish." At the advice of our local pet store we set our tank up and let it run for 24 hours. We added a conditioner to the water before putting any of the fish in our tank. We then purchased Complete Water Care Kit fizz tabs which includes Start Zyme to add beneficial bacteria and kick start the new tank cycle. Start Right to condition and chlorinate tap water and Correct pH that will adjust and maintain healthy pH levels. I added 2 tablets because that is what it called for. It then stated I could add my fish. I acclimated my fish to the water before placing them in my tank. I wasn't entirely sure when to feed them so I added a little pinch of food to the tank and they seemed to eat what I put in. Then this afternoon I gave them a little more and they didn't eat the entire amount I gave them. Now my water seems to be slightly cloudy. I tested my water with the quick dip paper strips and my Hardness level was at 300 and my pH was at 7.2 my nitrate was at 0 nitrite was at 0 and my alkalinity was at 80. I of course have my filter running and a heater in the tank as well. My fish seem to be happy and swimming around without any problems. I am just concerned about the cloudiness and the hardness in the water. I also am not sure how often to feed my fish and how often to clean the tank. I am open to any and all suggestions and advice. Like I mentioned I am totally new t