New to plants. What first?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flyingyahoo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to plants and was wanting a little help with my set up. First of all about my tank/.

65 gallon aqaurium
Bio-wheel filter rated for 50 gallon
HOT Magnum 250 filter - I have not replaced the activated carbon in over 9 months. Do not plan to replace
Ammonnia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - fluctuates between 5ppm and 20ppm
Also have naturally soft acidic water if that helps. Will take measurements when I get home.
I do a 40% to 50% water change every two weeks.
I have a coralife 05619 light. I have been told it was 42 watts.
Heavely stocked with fish.
Do not over feed.
Only use Seachem Flourish Root Tabs - Used for about one month.
Substrate is gravel - When I first got the tank I did not want anything to do with plants. However I have done really well with the fish such that they do not die:). Still wanting to "play" with the tank so I started expeirmenting with live plants and am starting to fall in love with that aspect.

I have several plants that have been in the tank for 1 to 2 months.

Anubias Barteri
Amazon Sword
Several kinds of Val
One other unkown.

All are remaing grean but not a lot of growth. Also have a lot of algae.

What should I do to get better growth. I know lighting will need to be improved and CO2 added. I am more concerned but the order in which to do things. My thoughts were as follows.

1. Start dosing with flourish per bottle directions.
2. Add CO2 source - pressurized.
3. Increase lighting to ???

Am I on the right track?