New to saltwater, opinion in a aquarium kit.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vetryan15

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I was curious if anyone had any opinion about the oceanic biocube 29gal tank? My local petsmart has the whole Kit for sale for $150. I am new to saltwater tanks, I wanted to start with a nano, just to c how I would b able to work it. I have heard more then enough horrible reviews, and a few good ones as well, and if I did what parts should I upgrade to, make it better? I dont have it as I am about to move, and am going to wait to set if up, or if anyone knows of any good tanks I should look at, trying to have a budget of $250 the max, just as a starter, thanks in advance.
Ryan

I really like our biocube. We have done a minimal upgrade thus far and I plan to keep adding. I can tell you that the word budget and aquarium don't go together. We have had our tank a little over a month and have already sunk about a grand. I have yet to upgrade any of the "big stuff" yet. You can run the biocube stock but I think most people at the very least upgrade the filtration system.

nano reefs usually go for 20 gallons at the most. There are going to be some parts you will have to add such as a water circulation pump and a refugium but other than that the petsmart brand is good. All of my tanks are from there and I have never had a problem.

Thanks for the help, I mean I really liked the cube, and at that price, I can't pass it up, since it's about $120 off of regular retail. I should have clarified on budget, I meant for a good starter tank.

I have a discontiuned model (aquapod) 12gal which is amazing but had to make some changes because that model had some Problems...
Im pretty new to reefs as
Well nano reefs are A