newb, please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AllieKeneston

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i just got a 10 gallon fish tank the day before yesterday. i'm totally new to all this, keep that in mind. my fish have been in the tank since i got it. i don't really know what i'm doing to be honest. i had 3 black mollies, now i have 2.. and one goldfish. the black molly died yesterday.. it was at the bottom? but now i'm nervous my others are gonna die. the black mollies have been staying at the top, right by the heater. my water's also really foggy. i did a pcw yesterday. with about 50% of the tank. should i keep doing that to make the water less foggy? i added bacteria supplement too.. is that good or bad? also, when doing pwc w/ tap water, i put a few drops in every gallon container i put in the tank, is that good? i just need a little guidance, because i really wanna keep these fish, and soon get new ones. thanks in advance for any tips or advice. :)

:confused::confused::confused:

2w2kdnc.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to the site :)

This article should pretty much cover everything for you. Make sure you also do some research on the nitrogen cycle in aquariums-
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...-but-i-already-have-fish-what-now-116287.html

Make sure you have a quality test kit like an API Master kit to monitor toxin levels, and be prepared to do water changes as necessary. A bottle of Seachem Prime serves as a great tool because it dechlorinates and also temporally neutralizes ammonia and nitrIte.

Good luck!