Newb seeking knowledge and advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquaman23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, my name is Jacob. I'm very new to keeping fish and I am seeking the help of friendly people to help guide me to my first tank. I have experience keeping exotic animals (Tarantulas, scorpions, snakes, lizards, etc.) so I know very well the importance of not jumping into anything blindly and knowing exactly what you are doing before making your first purchase.

I am interested in starting a freshwater fish tank but I have absolutley no clue where to start. I havoing dozens of 10 gallon tanks that I have laying around from my days of keeping and breeding tarantulas, but I have come to see that 10 gallons are kind of a joke when it comes to keeping fish.

I would like a tank of about a dozen different freshwater fish. I dont want a huge tank because I'm a college student and I don't really have the room or money for a huge tank.

My budget is reasonable and flexible. I just want to know what Im doing before I even purchase a larger tank.

A few questions:

1.) As I said, I am interested in getting a freshwater tank of about a dozen assorted fish. Just how big of a tank should I be looking to buy to accomadate that many to their adult sizes?

2.) I have seen people talking about cycling a tank? What exactly is this?

3.) What kind of fish are compatible witheach other? I have seen people talking about some needing a partner or a school.

4.) What accesories do I REALLY need for my tank? The pet store would tell me I needed bleach in the water if it would make them an extra dollar so I don't trust pet store employees.

Any information would be so greatly appreciated guys. Thanks for looking,

-Jacob Huff

Well as you can see from my thread I am no genius myself as I forgot everything I learned years ago. However.....